Faculty Training


Canvas training & faculty mentor support.

Getting Started: Teaching With Canvas
Good learning and success for students begins with great teaching.  Distance Education wants to do everything possible to ensure your online teaching experience is the best it can be.  That starts with training on the use of RCCD’s Learning Management System for all online-based learning, Canvas.  Faculty who are new to online-based teaching must complete the Online Canvas Academy.  The Academy consists of practical and essential information to get you started in the online environment.  For RCCD faculty, this is an opportunity to not only learn the new tools and features for online instruction, but also to be updated on the latest distance education State and Federal regulations.
Please note: Canvas training is for full-time or associate instructors only and is Flex approved.
To reserve your spot, please fill out the Online Canvas Academy enrollment form.
Please do not sign up unless you are sure you can participate and complete your training.

Distance Education Canvas training & support for faculty:
Vincent Alonzo (vincent.alonzo@rccd.edu)
Derek Moore (derek.moore@rccd.edu)

Distance Education Training & Workshops:

Your local Distance Educational Support Specialist/Educational Technologies Trainer will email out regular schedules.
For more information or to request Canvas Training / a Canvas Workshop contact Distance Education at http://www.opencampus.com/faculty/forms/faculty_forms_faculty_assistance.html.

You can also contact a mentor to assist via email:
Anya-Kristina Marquis - Moreno Valley(anya-kristina.marquis@mvc.edu)
Jose Duran - Moreno Valley (jose.duran@mvc.edu)
Cathy Brotherton - Norco (cathy.brotherton@norcocollege.edu)
Dorothy Gaylor – Riverside (dorothy.gaylor@rcc.edu)

Oliver Thompson – Riverside (oliver.thompson@rcc.edu)

Faculty Resources